Boundary Commission 1868

331mm h x 486mm w

Boundary Commission 1868

Essex. New Divisions of County

Published by the official Boundary Commission. Three new Divisions marked, for (temporary) 67 Act and 68 (proposed - the same), and Hundreds, and Temporary and Proposed Places of Election. Scale of Four Miles to an Inch.

Scale correct at 20 miles = 128mm, or 4.0 miles/inch, ie 1:255,000.

Across the base of the map is stated "Zincographed at the Ordnance Survey Office Southampton under the superintendence of Capt RM Parsons RE, FRAS. Col Sir H James RE, FRS, etc Director".

The railways include Gt Yeldham to Haverhill (1863), but not Hythe to Wivenhoe (1863); got Loughton to Ongar and Shelford to Haverhill, but not Audley Ed to Saffron Walden or Sudbury to Bury (all 1865) - so a few years out of date; the 1885 one is worse.

© Peter Walker 2014